Hardware…

Sometimes hardware dies and in my case my 1TB external drive is coughing and slowly inching its way towards the light. Data hasn’t been lost yet I hope but matter of a fact is that I am in need of a new drive to transfer the data to.

But out of this problem came some useful information. One of those things is that you shouldn’t trust Western Digital products. Another is that a 1TB USB drive is a bad idea. The product here in question is one of their My Book series and it’s not bad per say design wise but the lifespan is questionable at best when any other harddrive installed into my computer has by far outperformed and outlasted this WD My Book. Oh well I will have to put out an order for a new internal HDD for my PC but that will just about fill the last available sata slot on my motherboard.

Leave a Reply

